top of page

Revelation Chapter 1-10 Study Guide

Chapter 1

· What does Revelation mean? A: Merriam Webster dictionary definition: called also Apocalypse, an act of revealing or communicating divine truth, something that is revealed by God to humans

· The Apostle John was on the island of Patmos. Why was he there? A: For preaching the gospel.

· What are some of the names of Jesus? A: Alpha and Omega, Son of Man, First and Last, The Almighty One, The Living One

· According to verse 3 how does one get blessed? A: by reading the prophecy to the church and by listening and obeying what it says

· Memory Verse 8: “I am the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come, the Almighty One”

· What day of the week and what was John doing when he received the Revelation? A: Worshipping on The Lords Day (Sunday)

Chapter 2 & 3

· Letters to the churches. What are the names of the churches? A: Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea

· What two churches were doing a good job and why? A: Smyrna (suffered persecution, poverty) and Philadelphia (faithful)

· What churches were rebuked by Jesus and why? A: Ephesus (lack of love), Pergamum (Compromise), Thyatira (Immorality), Sardis (Superficial), Laodicea (Lukewarm)

· Verse 7 Anyone who is willing to hear should listen to the Spirit and understand what the Spirit is saying to the churches. A: This is repeated throughout chapter 2.

Chapter 4

· John was in the Spirit and found himself in the middle of worship taking place in heaven.

· Who was worshipping and/or present with God in heaven? A: 24 elders, seven spirits of God, and four living beings

· What did the four living beings look like and what do they represent? A: the characteristics of God: lion (majesty and power), ox (faithfulness), human face (intelligence), eagle (sovereignty)

· Memory Verse 8: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty-the one who always was, who is, and who is still to come.”

· Memory Verse 11: “You are worthy, O Lord our God, to receive glory and honor and power. For you created everything, and it is for your pleasure that they exist and were created.”

Chapter 5

· The Lamb opens the scrolls

· Worship continues

· Who is the only one worthy to open the scrolls? A: The Lamb, Jesus

Chapter 6

· The Lamb breaks the first six seals

· What were the first four seals and what did they represent? A: All seals represented God’s judgement on sinful earth. First four judgments are horses: (1) white horse (war), (2) red (warfare and bloodshed), (3) black (famine), (4) pale green (death)

· Fifth seal=souls of all those who have been martyred.

· Sixth seal=great earthquake, sun became black, moon became red, stars fell from the sky, and sky rolled up, all mountains and islands disappeared.

Chapter 7

· God’s people preserved

· 144,000=tribes of Israel

· Worship continues

· Verse 13-14 Those who came out the tribulation were clothed in white robes because of the blood of the lamb

Chapter 8 & 9

· Seventh seal broken, silence in heaven for one half hour

· Seventh seal=prayers of God’s people thrown to earth.

· First 4 of the seven trumpets (judgement on earth) blown:

1. 1/3 trees and all grass burned

2. 1/3 water turned to blood, 1/3 creatures died in sea, 1/3 ships destroyed

3. 1/3 rivers and fresh water made bitter

4. 1/3 daytime and nighttime darkness

5. Sunlight and air darkened by smoke, locusts that sting like scorpions to attack the people that did not have the seal of God on their foreheads

6. Angels release from Euphrates River 1/3 people on earth killed by plagues

Chapter 10

· The angel and the small scroll

· John was forbidden to write certain things that he saw

· John ate the scroll that the angel gave him and it was bittersweet

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page